Guide

How Much Does a PEO Cost in 2026? Fee Models Compared

ADP's guide puts the fee at 2% to 12% of payroll or $40 to $160 per employee a month. Deel lists $125 per US employee a month. Rippling publishes no PEO price.

How Much Does a PEO Cost in 2026? Fee Models Compared

A professional employer organization (PEO) charges in one of two ways: a percentage of payroll, or a flat fee per employee per month. ADP's own PEO cost guide, updated 14 July 2026, puts the administrative fee at 2% to 12% of total payroll or about $40 to $160 per employee per month. Deel is the one PEO on this page with a published US rate: $125 per US employee per month, read on its pricing page on 10 October 2026.

Those are administrative fees, and the sources disagree on what sits inside them. Benefit premiums and workers' compensation are billed in different ways, so the fee on a quote is often not the whole bill. The sections below explain how each fee model moves with headcount and wages, what the ranges mean for a 25-person company, and which contract terms to check before you sign.

A PEO co-employs your US staff. It takes over payroll, payroll tax filings, benefits administration and much of the compliance work. It is not the same product as an employer of record, which hires people in a country where you have no legal entity.

Two fee models, and what each one does to your budget

A percentage-of-payroll fee rises with every raise. ADP's guide puts that model at 2% to 12% of total payroll, so a company that doubles its wage bill also doubles the fee, even with the same number of people on the roster. Planning sheets can understate this model because the first number people see is a percentage, not the dollars it turns into.

A per-employee-per-month fee is flat for each person on the roster. ADP's guide says these fees are often billed monthly or per payroll cycle. Each hire adds a fixed monthly charge and each leaver removes one, which makes headcount plans easy to model. The trade-off shows at the lower end of the pay scale. A fixed fee takes a bigger share of a modest salary: at a $40,000 average salary, Deel's rate would equal 3.75% of payroll, well above the bottom of ADP's percentage range. Background checks on new hires have their own per-candidate price, see how much a background check costs.

What drives the price

ADP's guide lists the variables a provider weighs. They are workforce size and demographics, payroll and wage structure, the industry's risk profile, geographic footprint and compliance complexity, and how workers' compensation is handled. The guide also names the scope of HR advisory services as a driver.

Workers' compensation can be bundled into the admin fee or billed separately, so ask which applies to your quote before you compare totals. Benefits are typically billed separately, and their cost depends on plan design, employer contributions, employee elections, carrier pricing and where your employees live. Two quotes that show the same admin fee can produce very different annual totals once those lines are added.

What Deel's rate covers, and what it leaves open

Deel's pricing page describes its US PEO as co-employment across all 50 states, with benefits included. The benefits it names are healthcare, dental, vision, mental health, fertility and 401(k). The service list adds managed payroll and tax filings, automated onboarding and compliance.

Here the two sources disagree on scope. ADP's guide says benefits are typically billed separately. Deel's page also does not state a base or platform fee amount, a minimum headcount or a setup fee for the US PEO, even though its promotion refers to platform fees. The per-employee rate is therefore a clear number but not yet a total bill. Ask for the platform fee in writing before you add the rate to a budget.

Read Deel's term before you count the promotion

Deel's FAQ says its pricing is month to month, with no long-term commitment required. Its July to December 2026 PEO promotion, however, applies to order forms with a minimum two-year term. Qualifying forms receive three months of complimentary platform fees, credited at the end of the initial term, and the credit cannot be transferred.

A credit that arrives at the end of the initial term does nothing for the first year's cash flow, and it only applies if you sign the longer commitment. Confirm which term your order form carries, and what early termination would cost, before you count the promotion in the year-one budget.

Rippling, and the vendors missing from the table

Rippling's pricing page gives no PEO price and no per-employee figure for PEO or employer of record services. Its PEO page describes benefits at "affordable and predictable rates" but puts no number on them. A buyer comparing Rippling with Deel therefore has a published rate on one side and no published figure on the other.

Justworks, TriNet, Insperity and Paychex have no PEO figure on this page. Get each vendor's current rate in writing before you compare. TriNet charges a flat fee per employee per month with no published rate, and its quote terms are covered in TriNet Review 2026.

Toolradar data: Toolradar tracks 73 payroll tools as of 10 October 2026. Its payroll ranking names Justworks, TriNet and Insperity as examples of the PEO model, so the missing prices are the main gap on this page.

Worked example: 25 employees at a $60,000 average salary

This is our scenario, not a vendor quote: 25 employees, a $60,000 average salary and $1,500,000 of annual payroll. We add no benefit premiums or workers' compensation to any line, so each figure is the fee as the source states it.

Fee basis Rate Annual fee Per employee per month
Percentage of payroll, low end 2% $30,000 $100
Percentage of payroll, high end 12% $180,000 $600
Per employee, ADP low end $40 $12,000 $40
Per employee, ADP high end $160 $48,000 $160
Deel US PEO $125 $37,500 $125

The Deel line is one multiplication: $125 times 25 employees times 12 months is $37,500. At this payroll, that rate equals 2.5% of pay, above the bottom of ADP's percentage range. The percentage model alone spans $150,000 a year on the same roster, which is why the fee model on a quote matters more than any single headline number.

Run the same 25 people at a $40,000 average salary and the $37,500 is unchanged, but it becomes 3.75% of a $1,000,000 payroll. A 10-person team at the $60,000 average pays $15,000 a year at Deel's rate, against $4,800 to $19,200 a year for ADP's per-employee band.

Questions to ask before you compare quotes

  • Is the fee a percentage of payroll or a flat rate per employee? Ask for the annual total on your own roster, not the headline rate.
  • Is workers' compensation inside the admin fee or billed separately?
  • Are benefit premiums billed on top of the admin fee, and how are they set?
  • What is the initial term, and what does early termination cost?
  • Is there a platform fee, a setup fee or a minimum headcount? Get each number in writing.
  • Which promotion applies, does it need a longer term, and when does any credit arrive?

Is a PEO worth the money? Compare it to what it replaces

Judge the all-in annual fee against what the same functions cost separately: a payroll provider, a benefits broker, an HR platform, and the staff hours your team spends on payroll tax filings and compliance questions. If you need software and payroll only, the price of a software seat is in our HRIS cost guide, and that route avoids the co-employment fee altogether.

For vendor-by-vendor picks, read best PEO services, the Deel review and the ADP review. For payroll tools without the employment side, see best payroll software and best HRIS for small business. The Deel vs Rippling comparison and the ADP pricing guide show how those two vendors price their software next to their employment services.

Where these figures are thin

Only one PEO on this page has a published US rate. The other range comes from a single vendor's guide, and that guide itself says the fee varies by provider. A 2% to 12% span is too wide to budget from without a written quote, and the $40 to $160 band is an admin fee before benefits. Treat both as a starting point, then replace them with written quotes for your own roster. Deel's promotion pricing is also time-limited, so check its dates on the day you sign.

How we checked these figures

Deel's rate, FAQ and promotion terms were read on Deel's pricing page on 10 October 2026. Deel's Toolradar profile is the place for product detail. ADP's range comes from ADP's PEO cost guide, last updated 14 July 2026. Rippling's figures come from its pricing page and its PEO page, read the same day, and Rippling's Toolradar profile is linked for product detail. The worked figures are our arithmetic on the stated assumptions, not vendor quotes. The Toolradar count is live from its payroll ranking on 10 October 2026.

FAQ

How much does a PEO cost per employee?

Deel lists $125 per US employee per month for its PEO. ADP's guide gives a category range of about $40 to $160 per employee per month for the administrative fee, before benefits, which vary by plan and carrier.

Do PEOs charge a percentage of payroll?

Some do. ADP's guide describes a percentage-of-payroll administrative fee as one of the two common models, and that fee grows with every raise your company gives.

Does the PEO fee include benefits?

Not necessarily. ADP's guide says benefits are typically billed separately, and their cost depends on plan design, employer contributions, employee elections and carrier pricing. Deel's pricing page says its US PEO includes benefits, so ask Deel in writing what, if anything, is billed on top of its rate.

Is Deel's PEO month to month?

Deel's FAQ says its pricing is month to month with no long-term commitment required. Its July to December 2026 PEO promotion applies to order forms with a two-year minimum term, and the three-month platform fee credit arrives at the end of that term. Confirm which term your order form carries before you count the promotion.

What is the minimum company size for a PEO?

Deel's pricing page does not state a minimum headcount for its US PEO. Ask each vendor directly, because a minimum changes the fee picture for a small team.

Is a PEO the same as an employer of record?

No. A PEO co-employs staff who are already on your US payroll, while an employer of record hires people in a place where you have no legal entity. Best EOR services covers that product separately.

Cite this: HRpresso, "How Much Does a PEO Cost in 2026? Fee Models Compared", October 2026.

If you want to see Deel's PEO quote, start with Deel. Deel is an affiliate partner, so we may earn a commission if you sign up through that link.

Some offers on this page may be paid placements or contain affiliate links.

More HRpresso reviews

Buyer guides and software reviews, with prices read from each vendor's own pricing page.

Browse all reviews