Review

TriNet Review 2026: Pricing, Pros, Cons and Alternatives

A US PEO with no published price: what its flat per-employee fee covers, what it leaves out, and how four alternatives compare.

Product links may be affiliate links. How we rate 4 alternatives covered
TL;DR

TriNet is worth a written quote in 2026, but not a purchase on price. It publishes no list price for its PEO, and Remote's PEO starts at $99 per employee per month, checked on Remote's pricing page October 10, 2026. TriNet bills a flat per-employee-per-month admin fee on top of benefits and payroll taxes, and it does not state its minimum headcount.

TriNet's strongest argument is the fee model: it says its admin charge stays the same when an employee gets a raise, while bundled models priced on payroll rise. Deel's US PEO lists at $125 per employee per month on its own page. The catch is what you cannot see before a sales call. TriNet's pricing plans are for new clients only and vary by region and size, so a small team cannot tell from the site whether it qualifies. If you need a number this week, use the printed Remote and Deel rates as the benchmark, then set TriNet's written quote against them.

Key factsBest for: US employers with several states, no in-house HR lead, and…
  • Updated: October 18, 2026
  • Best for: US employers with several states, no in-house HR lead, and a written quote they can compare before signing.
  • Price as of October 18, 2026: PEO: no list price, quote only. HR Plus: quote only, priced per employee per month.
  • A US PEO with a flat per-employee admin fee, quote-only pricing and a minimum headcount it does not publish.
  • Fee model: Flat per employee per month
  • Worksite employees: About 323,000 at 12/31/25
  • Accreditation: ESAC since 1995
  • Alternatives covered: Remote, Deel, ADP TotalSource, Rippling PEO

Pros

  • Flat per-employee fee, not a percentage of payroll, so the admin line does not rise with raises, by TriNet's own comparison of pricing models.
  • Its accreditation and certification claims can be checked: ESAC since 1995 and an IRS-classified Certified PEO subsidiary.
  • A sponsored 401(k), HR experts and payroll in one contract, plus HR Plus as a second model for outsourced HR and payroll.

Cons

  • No list price and no published minimum headcount, so a company cannot check its cost before a sales call, unlike Remote and Deel, and cannot check its minimum at all.
  • Benefit premiums, employer payroll taxes and add-ons such as background checks and drug screening all sit outside the admin fee.
List priceNone published, quote only
Fee modelFlat per employee per month
Worksite employeesAbout 323,000 at 12/31/25
AccreditationESAC since 1995

TriNet is a US professional employer organization (PEO), and it sells two models on different contracts: the PEO, where TriNet shares certain employer duties with you, and HR Plus, which TriNet calls an Administrative Services Organization.

This review covers the PEO first, because the admin fee is the number buyers ask about.

The question for a people team is not whether TriNet works, since its own pages make specific claims that can be checked. The question is what a quote actually contains.

TriNet's admin fee is a flat number per employee, while payroll taxes and benefit premiums sit outside it. That split decides whether a quoted monthly figure is the amount you will pay.

Toolradar data: Toolradar tracks 73 payroll tools as of October 10, 2026, and has no TriNet tool profile, so every TriNet figure on this page comes from TriNet's own pages.

Its profiles for Deel and ADP exist, and its payroll ranking names TriNet once, as an example of the PEO model for firms of 25 to 200 employees.

How we compared: TriNet's PEO, HR Plus and HR platform pages and its pricing FAQ, plus the pricing pages of Remote, Deel, Rippling and ADP and ADP's PEO cost article, all checked on October 10, 2026. We ran no hands-on test. Every price below is printed on one of those pages, or is our arithmetic on it.

What is TriNet?

TriNet is a US PEO that reports about 323,000 worksite employees as of December 31, 2025, on its PEO advantages page. In a PEO, TriNet shares certain employer responsibilities with you, mainly payroll, tax and benefits administration, while you keep control of hiring, pay, supervision and terminations.

The PEO bundles payroll, access to benefits, a fully managed 401(k), HR support and compliance guidance into one contract.

Two more products sit under the same brand. HR Plus is TriNet's Administrative Services Organization offering, priced per employee per month and sold with optional Payroll Pro and People Pro packages. The HR platform, which TriNet also calls Zenefits, is the software layer that employees and managers log into.

Global hiring runs through TriNet's partner Multiplier under separate agreements and fees, so an international hire needs its own contract. If that is your case, the employer-of-record question is covered in best EOR services.

How TriNet works

Getting a PEO price takes three steps on TriNet's pricing page: tell TriNet about the company, meet a team to find the right solution, then receive an estimate. Apart from one illustrative FAQ example, nothing on the pricing page produces a fee total before that meeting.

The fee model is where TriNet is most specific. Its admin charge is a flat fee for each active worksite employee each month, which TriNet calls PEPM. Its FAQ works the arithmetic with a $150 PEPM rate on 20 employees, or $3,000 a month, as an example rather than a published rate.

Payroll taxes come separately. TriNet says tax charges stop once the Social Security and unemployment wage caps are reached, and its admin fee is per head rather than per dollar of wages. That is the part to test in a quote, because the tax lines fall through the year while the admin line follows headcount.

Headcount drives the invoice. TriNet's FAQ says PEPM pricing moves with active headcount and seasonal staffing, so a business with a summer peak gets a monthly bill that changes.

Day to day, the platform handles payroll with direct deposit, e-pay stubs and electronic W-2s, lets employees check pay and request time off in a mobile app, and routes routine HR questions to an AI assistant before a TriNet HR expert takes the complex ones. We did not test the software, so these are TriNet's own descriptions.

Before you sign, ask TriNet for four things in writing: the per-employee rate at your headcount, the minimum worksite employee count, the contract term with its early-termination fee, and a sample invoice that shows taxes and benefit premiums on their own lines.

Those four answers turn a quote into a figure you can set against Remote's starting price and Deel's listed rate.

TriNet key features

A flat per-employee admin feeEssential
TriNet describes its fee as a flat charge per employee per month, never a percentage of payroll. Its comparison table says the admin fee stays the same when an employee gets a raise, while hybrid and bundled models rise with pay. Ask for that wording in the signed order form, because a quote is not a contract term.
An HR expert and compliance support
Its pricing FAQ says the PEPM fee covers HR expertise, benefits and workers' compensation administration, and platform access. That matters most for a company with no HR lead. A company with an in-house HR team will use the expert less, so price the package against what it would replace.
A TriNet-sponsored 401(k)
TriNet offers a fully managed 401(k) and calls its plan fees competitive, or it can connect a 401(k) the company already has. Medical, dental and vision premiums are set by carriers and billed apart from the admin fee, so they need their own line in the budget.
Accreditation and certification
TriNet says it has held ESAC accreditation since 1995 and that a subsidiary is IRS-classified as a Certified PEO. Its pricing page links to both records, so confirm them yourself before you sign.
HR Plus is a different contract
HR Plus is TriNet's Administrative Services Organization offering, with its own quote and per-employee-per-month pricing based on headcount and service level. TriNet sells it separately from the PEO, so read which product the quote covers before you compare it with a PEO proposal.

TriNet pricing

Its pricing FAQ says the price is customized by company size, industry, geographic footprint and services, and that TriNet does not publish standard list pricing.

Its pricing plans are for new clients only and can vary by region, industry, company size and scope of services, according to the footnote on TriNet's PEO pricing page, checked October 10, 2026.

Apart from the illustrative example in its FAQ, no PEO rate appears on that page. The HR Plus pricing page uses the same quote process, and it describes its fee as per employee per month without printing the amount.

The alternatives split into two groups. Remote and Deel print a rate. Remote's pricing page lists a starting price of $99 per employee per month, billed in USD and requiring a US bank account.

Deel's US PEO is $125 per employee per month on Deel's pricing page. Its promotion credits three months of platform fees on two-year order forms signed by December 31, 2026, and its terms make the credit repayable at full list price if you end the order form early.

The other two are quote-only. ADP's TotalSource page says its pricing is quoted rather than listed, built around each business's own factors, on ADP's TotalSource page.

Its general cost article says PEO administrative fees across the market may range from 2% to 12% of total payroll, or about $40 to $160 per employee per month, a range for PEOs in general rather than a TotalSource rate, according to ADP's PEO cost article.

Rippling's PEO page describes its rates as affordable and predictable but prints no figure.

Scenario at 25 employees (our arithmetic, not a quote): Remote's starting price comes to $29,700 a year, and Deel's to $37,500, both before benefits and payroll taxes. TriNet's own $150 example would be $45,000 a year at 25 employees, but TriNet gives that figure only as an illustration. The spread between the two published rates is $7,800 a year at that headcount.

PlanPriceBest for
TriNet PEOCustom quoteFlat admin fee per employee per month; benefit premiums and payroll taxes billed separately
TriNet HR Plus (ASO)Custom quoteOutsourced HR, payroll and payroll-tax services, with optional Payroll Pro and People Pro packages
TriNet HR Platform (Zenefits)No price publishedHR, payroll and benefits software, included with HR Plus according to TriNet
Remote PEOFrom $99/employee/moBilled in USD, requires a US bank account; guided onboarding and large-group benefits
Deel US PEO$125/employee/moCo-employment in all 50 states with benefits; promotion credits three months of platform fees on two-year terms
ADP TotalSourceCustom quotePriced per business on workforce size, injury risk and where employees work, per ADP
Rippling PEONo price publishedBenefits and HR support on Rippling's HR software; the PEO page gives no figure

TriNet pros and cons

What we like

  • Flat per-employee fee, not a percentage of payroll, so the admin line does not rise with raises, by TriNet's own comparison of pricing models.
  • Its accreditation and certification claims can be checked: ESAC since 1995 and an IRS-classified Certified PEO subsidiary.
  • A sponsored 401(k), HR experts and payroll in one contract, plus HR Plus as a second model for outsourced HR and payroll.

What could be better

  • No list price and no published minimum headcount, so a company cannot check its cost before a sales call, unlike Remote and Deel, and cannot check its minimum at all.
  • Benefit premiums, employer payroll taxes and add-ons such as background checks and drug screening all sit outside the admin fee.

Who TriNet is for

TriNet fits a US employer with several states or a growing headcount, no in-house HR lead, and a finance owner who wants one invoice for payroll, benefits and compliance. It fits best when the company will accept a written quote and insist that the flat per-employee fee, the minimum headcount and the contract term all appear in it before signing.

It is a weaker fit in three cases. A company that needs a printed price before any sales call should start with Remote or Deel. A company near or below TriNet's unpublished minimum headcount cannot tell whether it qualifies until a representative says so.

And a seasonal business should model the bill at its peak headcount, since TriNet says the PEPM fee moves with active headcount. If you want ranked picks first, start with best PEO services, and for the fee mechanics before any quote, how much a PEO costs explains them.

Best TriNet alternatives

If TriNet is not the right fit, these are the closest options.

ToolBest forStarts at
TriNetUS employers with several states, no in-house HR lead, and a written quote they can compare before signing.PEO: no list price, quote onlyVisit →
RemoteUS teams that want a printed starting rate and can pay in dollars from a US bank account.PEO from $99/employee/mo, billed in USDVisit →
DeelCompanies that also hire contractors or employees abroad and want one platform for all of it.US PEO $125/employee/moVisit →
ADP TotalSourceEmployers that want a large PEO and will ask for an itemized quote covering admin, benefits and workers' comp.Quote only: ADP says its TotalSource pricing is quoted rather than lisVisit →
Rippling PEOCompanies that already run HR, IT and payroll on Rippling and want the PEO inside the same software.No PEO price publishedVisit →
Remote
The lowest printed PEO rate here, with guided onboarding, compliance support and large-group benefits.
Visit →
Deel
A printed US PEO rate inside a wider global platform, with a promotion that is repayable if you leave early.
Visit →
ADP TotalSource
A large PEO that names its cost drivers openly but publishes no rate for TotalSource.
Visit →
Rippling PEO
A PEO sold inside Rippling's HR software, with benefits and HR support and no price on its PEO page.
Visit →

The bottom line

Buy TriNet when the question is co-employment with a predictable admin fee and an expert desk, and when you can get the minimum headcount, the contract term and the flat per-employee rate in writing before you sign. The fee model is its most defensible argument, and its accreditation claims are the kind you can check on the accrediting bodies' own records.

Skip TriNet when the purchase has to be decided on price. Remote and Deel print the figure you need to compare, while TriNet, ADP and Rippling make you wait for a proposal. If you already run Rippling for HR and payroll, price its PEO inside that platform.

For the ranked alternatives, read best PEO services, and for the fee mechanics before any quote, how much a PEO costs explains them.

Cite this: HRpresso, "TriNet Review 2026", October 2026.

Frequently asked questions

Is TriNet worth it in 2026?

It is worth a written quote, not a purchase on price. TriNet publishes no list price for its PEO and charges a flat per-employee-per-month admin fee, with benefits and payroll taxes on top. Remote and Deel print a PEO rate on their own pricing pages, checked October 10, 2026, so compare TriNet's quote against those two before you decide.

How much does TriNet cost per employee?

TriNet does not publish a per-employee rate. Its pricing FAQ explains the model with a $150 PEPM example at 20 employees, which would be $3,000 a month, and says the real rate depends on company size, industry, geographic footprint and services. Benefit premiums and payroll taxes are billed separately from that fee.

Does TriNet have a minimum number of employees?

Yes. TriNet's pricing FAQ says it requires a minimum worksite employee count and does not state the number. Ask for the minimum in writing, together with the contract term, before you compare TriNet with any published rate.

What does TriNet's admin fee leave out?

Medical, dental and vision premiums, the employer side of payroll taxes such as FICA, FUTA and SUTA, and add-ons such as background checks, drug screening and premium learning courses. TriNet's FAQ lists these apart from the PEPM fee, so add them to the budget before you put TriNet next to a quote.

Is HR Plus the same product as TriNet's PEO?

No. TriNet calls HR Plus an Administrative Services Organization. It has its own quote, priced per employee per month on headcount and service level, and TriNet sells it separately from the PEO. Check which product the quote covers before you compare it with a PEO proposal.

Sources

Prices and plan details come from each vendor's own pricing page, re-checked by the Toolradar pricing tracker.

Related guides

Some offers on this page may be paid placements or contain affiliate links.

More HRpresso reviews

Buyer guides and software reviews, with prices read from each vendor's own pricing page.

Browse all reviews