Review

Factorial Review 2026: Pricing, Pros, Cons and Alternatives

What Factorial costs once modules and headcount are added, what its time, talent and IT products do, and four alternatives checked on their own sites.

Product links may be affiliate links. How we rate 4 alternatives covered
TL;DR

Factorial is a broad, all-in-one HR platform with a low starting rate, but the starting rate is not the bill. Its pricing page prints $8 per user per month, says every plan includes its Core features, then sends you to a tailored quote for modules and headcount. Expect no free plan, no stated trial length, and payroll that Factorial guides rather than calculates. It is worth a quote if you want time, talent, finance and IT on one platform. The alternatives to price against are BambooHR, Rippling, HiBob and Deel.

Key factsBest for: Growing companies that want time, talent, finance and IT in…
  • Updated: October 18, 2026
  • Best for: Growing companies that want time, talent, finance and IT in one system and will accept a tailored quote.
  • Price as of October 18, 2026: From $8/user/mo on the global page; modules and plan size quoted; no free plan
  • A broad HR and business platform with a published starting rate, a quote for everything above Core, and payroll that is guided rather than run.
  • Starting rate: Per user per month, global page
  • Free plan: None on the pricing page
  • Trial: Try for free button, length not stated
  • Payroll: Guided by Factorial, not calculated

Pros

  • Time, talent, finance and IT products are sold from one platform, according to its pricing page.
  • Time tracking covers computer clock-in, the Factorial app, QR codes and geolocation, with overtime compensation.
  • A starting rate is published, which Rippling and HiBob do not do on their pricing pages.

Cons

  • The starting rate names no plan and no module list, and every module past Core comes from a quote.
  • No free plan appears, and the page does not say how long the Try for free trial runs.
  • Factorial says it does not calculate payroll, and its payroll page names no US payroll provider.
Starting ratePer user per month, global page
Free planNone on the pricing page
TrialTry for free button, length not stated
PayrollGuided by Factorial, not calculated

Factorial sells one platform across four product families: time, talent, finance and IT. Its appeal is breadth. A growing team can run time off, shifts, performance reviews, hiring, expenses and device management from one vendor, and the pricing page leads with a number low enough to make the first call feel cheap.

The catch is that the page presents that number as a start, then asks for a tailored quote for everything above it.

This review is for HR leads, people-ops managers and founders who run their own hiring at a company of roughly 25 to 500 people. Our methodology: we read Factorial's own pricing and product pages, worked out what the starting rate means at 25 and 50 people, and set it beside four alternatives checked on their own sites. Where a vendor publishes no number, we say so rather than fill the gap.

What is Factorial?

Factorial is a cloud platform for HR, payroll, time, talent, finance and IT. Its site groups the product into four families, Time Management, Talent Management, Finance and IT Management, and it sells payroll as its own product page.

Factorial says more than 17,000 companies use it every day. That is the company's own figure, and we have not checked it against an outside source.

Core is the base layer that every plan includes. The pricing page lists its contents as the employee directory, onboarding and offboarding, payslip distribution, bulk document sending, legal e-signature, custom notifications and fillable PDFs.

Everything beyond Core is a module chosen in a sales conversation. The pricing page says Factorial builds the plan around what you pick, with no more and no less.

How Factorial works

The pricing page sends buyers to a tailored quote for anything above the starting rate, so the real bill comes from a conversation. After that, the product menu shows what runs day to day: Automations, a Permissions System, a Document Manager, an Employee Portal, HR Reports and KPIs, and an Organizational Chart.

Those names come from the site navigation, which is the nearest thing to a feature map a buyer can check before signing.

Employees mostly meet the time module. Factorial's time page says staff can clock in from a computer, the Factorial app or a QR code, and the pricing page adds geolocation and overtime compensation. Shift planning covers automated and rotating shifts, and time off supports unlimited policies and custom absence types.

If the org chart is the reason you are buying, our org chart ranking shows how Factorial's chart compares with dedicated tools. Integrations run through an app marketplace and a public Factorial API, which the payroll FAQ names as one way to extract the data.

Factorial key features

Core in every planEssential
Factorial Core comes with every plan, and every module beyond it is quoted.
Time and shift managementEssential
Time tracking runs from a computer, the Factorial app or a QR code, with geolocation and overtime compensation. Time off offers unlimited policies and custom absence types, and shifts can be automated, rotated or set in bulk.
Talent and engagement
Performance covers 360 reviews, competency tracking and review analytics. Recruitment adds multi-job posting, AI CV parsing and question templates, and engagement adds eNPS insights, team pulse and climate surveys.
Payroll with guidance
Payroll handles overtime, bonuses, bulk payslips and reports, and Factorial says it guides you through each run rather than calculating it. The payroll FAQ says the API can extract all of the payroll information.
Expenses, IT and procurement
Expenses include OCR document reading, multi-step approvals and real-time tracking. The IT products add device management, IT inventory, SaaS management and endpoint security, all tied to the same employee record.

Factorial pricing

Prices verified on each vendor's pricing page, October 2026. Factorial's global pricing page prints one headline starting rate, per user per month, in dollars. Its UK pricing page shows the same headline as £5.40 per user per month, so the vendor prints a separate price for each currency.

The global pricing page says every plan includes Factorial Core, asks for a tailored quote for modules and plan size, and carries a 'Try for free' button without a stated trial length. It names no free plan.

Billing follows headcount. Monthly plans are charged on the employees active at the start of each month. Annual plans invoice a month only when active employees exceed the annual plan, and that surplus is settled for the month with no credit issued.

Factorial applies tax under current legislation, takes Visa, Mastercard, American Express and Discover, and lets you cancel at any time, with the account usable until the renewal date.

At the headline rate, 25 users cost $200 a month, or $2,400 a year, and 50 users cost $400 a month, or $4,800 a year. Those figures exclude modules, payroll, implementation and tax, so treat them as a floor.

For comparison, BambooHR's pricing page prints $10, $17 and $25 per employee per month on its three plan cards, and a flat $250 a month on Core for 25 or fewer employees, with payroll sold as a US-only add-on.

Rippling's pricing page publishes no price and bills most products per employee per month, and some carry a monthly fee. The HiBob pricing page is a demo request form with no figure.

Our HRIS cost guide sets these lists side by side across more vendors.

Toolradar data: Toolradar tracks 33 HRIS tools as of October 10, 2026, and 21% of them are free, freemium or open source, so most are paid. Only 3 of its 10 top tools publish a paid price. Factorial is one of the paid majority, so budget for a contract from the first month.

Sources: Toolradar HRIS ranking, Toolradar's Factorial profile and its BambooHR profile.

PlanPriceBest for
Factorial starting rate$8/user/moGlobal pricing page headline; Core included in every plan, modules quoted
Factorial UK starting rate£5.40/user/moUK pricing page headline in pounds, same offer
Factorial tailored planCustomModules, headcount and payroll scope set in a quote
BambooHR Core$10/employee/moFlat $250/mo at 25 or fewer employees; payroll is a US-only add-on
BambooHR Pro$17/employee/moEverything in Core, plus performance and talent tools
BambooHR Elite$25/employee/moFlat $650/mo at 25 or fewer; insights and data benchmarks
RipplingCustomCustom quote; no published price or free plan
HiBobCustomDemo request form; no price on the pricing page
Deel contractor$49/contractor/moContractor management on the pricing page
Deel employer of record$599/employee/moHiring and payroll in countries without a local entity

Factorial pros and cons

What we like

  • Time, talent, finance and IT products are sold from one platform, according to its pricing page.
  • Time tracking covers computer clock-in, the Factorial app, QR codes and geolocation, with overtime compensation.
  • A starting rate is published, which Rippling and HiBob do not do on their pricing pages.

What could be better

  • The starting rate names no plan and no module list, and every module past Core comes from a quote.
  • No free plan appears, and the page does not say how long the Try for free trial runs.
  • Factorial says it does not calculate payroll, and its payroll page names no US payroll provider.

Who Factorial is for

Factorial fits growing companies that want time tracking, time off, performance, hiring and IT on one platform, and that will accept a tailored quote in return. It rewards HR teams that own the process and can build workflows, because the product covers more ground than a single-purpose HRIS such as BambooHR.

It is a poor fit in three cases. If you need a free plan to start, there is none on the pricing page. If you need payroll run by the vendor, Factorial says it does not calculate payroll, so you need a payroll provider or consultant alongside it.

And if you want a price before any call, Rippling and HiBob both keep their numbers behind a sales step. If you are weighing it against a European HRIS, our Personio review covers that side of the choice.

If hiring abroad is the real need, our Deel review is the better starting point.

Best Factorial alternatives

If Factorial is not the right fit, these are the closest options.

ToolBest forStarts at
FactorialGrowing companies that want time, talent, finance and IT in one system and will accept a tailored quote.From $8/user/mo on the global pageVisit →
BambooHRUS small and mid-size companies that want a published-price HRIS and will buy payroll separately.Core $10, Pro $17, Elite $25 per employee/moVisit →
RipplingCompanies that want HR, finance and IT products on one platform and will take a sales call.Custom quote onlyVisit →
HiBobMid-size, culture-focused companies that want employee experience first and will book a demo to price it.No price on its pricing page, which is a demo request formVisit →
DeelCompanies hiring contractors or employees in countries where they have no legal entity.Contractors $49/moVisit →
Lowest published monthly price by toolBar chart of the lowest monthly price each vendor publishes; the same figures are in the comparison table above.Lowest published monthly priceFactorial$8BambooHR$25RipplingFreeDeel$49
Lowest monthly figure each vendor publishes, checked Oct 2026. A tilde marks a figure the vendor states approximately. Per-seat and usage charges can sit on top of it. 1 of 5 does not publish a comparable monthly price and is left out rather than estimated.
BambooHR
A published, per-employee HRIS with flat monthly rates for small teams and payroll sold as a US-only add-on.
Visit →
Rippling
A platform that sells HR, finance and IT products on top of a required core, priced by quote.
Visit →
HiBob
An HR platform whose pricing page is a demo request, with its modules named in the form.
Visit →
Deel
A global hiring, contractor and employer-of-record platform, priced per worker on its own pricing page.
Visit →

The bottom line

Factorial earns a place on the shortlist if you want one platform for time, talent, finance and IT, and you can live without a free start. Its starting rate is one of the few public numbers in this set, but it is a floor.

Get a quote for the modules you need, then ask BambooHR and Rippling for the same headcount so the numbers line up.

Skip it if payroll has to run through the vendor, or if you need a trial with a stated length before you sign. Our HRIS shortlist for small businesses sets it against the other systems a small team would consider.

Cite this: HRpresso, "Factorial Review 2026: Pricing, Pros, Cons and Alternatives", October 2026.

Frequently asked questions

How much does Factorial cost?

Factorial's global pricing page says it starts at $8 per user per month, with Factorial Core in every plan. Modules and plan size come from a tailored quote, so the starting rate is a floor. At 25 users the floor is $200 a month before modules, payroll and tax. Verified on the vendor's pricing page in October 2026.

Is there a free Factorial plan?

No free plan appears on Factorial's pricing page. The page has a 'Try for free' button but does not say how long a trial lasts, so ask sales for the trial terms before you plan a rollout around one.

Is Factorial worth it?

For a growing company that wants time, talent, finance and IT on one platform, yes, provided the quote fits the budget. It is less worth it if you need a free start, a fixed price on the first call, or payroll that the vendor calculates for you.

Does Factorial calculate payroll?

No. Factorial's payroll page says it does not calculate your payroll, and that it helps and guides you through the process. The integrations the page names are Sage 50, Payflow, TeamSystem and Cimplx, and it names no US payroll provider, so ask sales which setup covers your country before you sign.

What are the best Factorial alternatives?

BambooHR suits a published-price HRIS with US payroll as an add-on. Rippling suits HR, finance and IT products bought on one required core platform. HiBob suits culture-first HR sold through a demo. Deel suits hiring contractors or employees across borders. Ask each vendor for the same headcount so the quotes line up.

Sources

Prices and plan details come from each vendor's own pricing page, re-checked by the Toolradar pricing tracker.

Related guides

Some offers on this page may be paid placements or contain affiliate links.

More HRpresso reviews

Buyer guides and software reviews, with prices read from each vendor's own pricing page.

Browse all reviews