Review

OnPay Review 2026: Payroll Pricing, Pros, Cons and Alternatives

Payroll Essentials, the HR and time add-ons, and a 10-person bill set next to Gusto, Patriot, Square, Zoho, and QuickBooks.

Product links may be affiliate links. How we rate 5 alternatives covered
TL;DR

OnPay Payroll Essentials costs $49 a month plus $6 per worker, so 10 US workers come to $109 a month with multi-state tax filing included. It is worth that rate when a second state should not force a plan upgrade. Patriot Full Service and Square print lower single-state bills, and HR workflows and time clocks are paid add-ons.

Key factsBest for: US employers that want multi-state filing on one published…
  • Updated: October 21, 2026
  • Best for: US employers that want multi-state filing on one published plan, not a higher tier.
  • Price as of October 21, 2026: 10 workers: $109/mo on Essentials before add-ons; multi-state included.
  • US payroll that keeps every state on the published base plan, and prices HR and time as add-ons.
  • Multi-state: Tax filing in additional states stays on Payroll Essentials rather than on a higher plan.
  • Support: Phone, email, and chat run from 9am to 8pm on weekdays for every client.
  • Free tier: No ongoing free plan, though the pricing page offers the first month free.
  • Alternatives covered: Gusto, Patriot Software, Square Payroll, Zoho Payroll, QuickBooks Workforce

Pros

  • Tax filing covers every state you pay, and extra states add no fee, so a remote hire stays on this plan.
  • Unlimited pay runs, with no extra charge for a bonus run, plus W-2, 1099, 941, and 943 filings in one payday.
  • Benefits administration is on the base plan, and you pay carrier premiums rather than an admin fee.

Cons

  • PTO requests, the org chart, and time clocks are add-ons, so the base plan is payroll rather than an HR suite.
  • The pricing page does not state a minimum term, and the one-worker calculator is not a flat company fee.
OnPay product screenshot
Price modelA monthly base plus a fee for each worker you pay.
Multi-stateTax filing in additional states stays on Payroll Essentials rather than on a higher plan.
SupportPhone, email, and chat run from 9am to 8pm on weekdays for every client.
Free tierNo ongoing free plan, though the pricing page offers the first month free.

OnPay is worth opening when a second US state should not push payroll onto a higher plan. The base product files taxes wherever you pay people, so the published rate is already the multi-state rate.

An HR suite and a time clock start on the add-on menu, and that menu is the part most buyers leave out of the first quote.

People ops leads, office managers, and founders who still run payday should use this comparison to decide whether the base plan is the product they need.

The set is Gusto, Patriot Software, Square Payroll, Zoho Payroll, and QuickBooks Workforce, each with a published US rate, and the wider shortlist is on payroll software.

Toolradar data: OnPay's entry plan ranks 23rd of 29, tied, among Payroll tools with a verified entry price and no unit on that price, and the median in that group is $25 a month, as of October 2026. The comparison uses the base fee only, not the worker fee.

Toolradar tracks 74 payroll tools as of October 17, 2026, and the OnPay profile is in that directory.

How we compared: OnPay's payroll pricing page, paychecks page, and about page, plus the pricing pages for Gusto, Patriot, Square, Zoho Payroll, and QuickBooks Workforce, read on October 17, 2026. Louis Corneloup, founder of Toolradar and Dupple, checked the totals.

Ten-person totals are our multiplication of printed rates, except Patriot's 10-worker examples, which that page prints itself. The method is on how we rate, and this page has no sponsored placement.

What is OnPay?

OnPay is a US payroll service that calculates pay, files payroll taxes, and pays employees and contractors, with HR and time tracking sold as add-ons. The base fee covers payday and filings, and an HR desk is a second invoice.

The buyer is a small US employer, not a global workforce platform, and the pricing page is built around the 50 states, with company background on the about page.

Payroll Essentials is the only base plan, so there is no cheaper published tier and no richer tier that includes a clock. Full-service payroll, unlimited pay runs, and year-end forms are in the fee, and W-2 and 1099 workers can share a run.

You can pay people in as many states as you need at no additional cost, including automatic state tax registration and local withholding, so a remote hire stays on this card.

Hiring paperwork is on the same plan, so offer letters, I-9s, and W-4s can be e-signed and state new-hire reporting does not require the HR add-on.

An accountant can be granted access so the ledger syncs after each run, and there is no implementation fee or integration fee, which means a switch does not open with a setup bill.

Benefits administration is on the base plan, which matters if you had a separate admin fee in the budget. Health, dental, vision, life, disability, HSA, FSA, and commuter benefits can be administered there, and workers' compensation and 401(k) are pay-the-premium products.

The pricing footer names OnPay Insurance Agency, LLC, California license 0L29422, the broker rather than the carrier, and you pay the premiums.

PTO accrual policies are on Essentials, while requests, the org chart, equipment tracking, onboarding lists, and the clock sit on add-ons. Licensed HR support and the compliance library are separate again, so a base-plan quote does not include approvals.

How OnPay works

The pricing page says setup and the migration of prior wages and employee data are free, with expert-led configuration before the first run, so a mid-year switch is part of the offer rather than a January project.

You are billed for the people you actually pay that month, which means a seasonal worker who sits out a cycle should leave that cycle's fee.

OnPay calculates gross pay, overtime, bonuses, deductions, and garnishments, and you can preview, edit, or cancel before money moves. An extra bonus run does not add a per-run charge, so a spot bonus is not a second subscription.

Direct deposit, a check, or a prepaid card are the pay methods, and tax payments plus year-end forms are the full-service half of the same fee.

Support on Essentials is phone, email, and live chat for every client, from 9am to 8pm on weekdays, so a payroll question does not wait on a higher tier. Questions for a licensed HR expert belong on the Live HR Support add-on, not on that payroll line.

If OnPay makes a filing mistake, it says it will deal with the tax agency, and no dollar cap is printed on that promise, so ask before you treat it as insurance.

Time tracking brings clocks, geofencing, overtime rules, breaks, and an approval step that syncs hours into payroll, which is what an hourly team is actually buying. The HR add-on brings onboarding workflows, a directory, org charts, equipment records, and PTO requests.

Both add-ons list PTO approvals, so do not buy both for that single job.

Compliance Resources is the alert library, and Live HR Support is the licensed desk, so skip it if your questions are only about payroll. The pricing page states no minimum term, while Gusto lets you cancel any month and Square requires no long-term contract.

OnPay leaves that term on the order form, and the first month free is a signup offer rather than a plan you stay on.

OnPay key features

Multi-state tax filing on the base planEssential
Payroll Essentials files federal, state, and local taxes, registers state accounts, and calculates local withholding, so a new state is not a new contract. Additional states do not add a fee, and W-2 and 1099 workers can sit in one run.
Unlimited runs and an error-free guaranteeEssential
You can edit or cancel a run and process a bonus payroll without a per-run charge, so a spot bonus is not a second bill. If OnPay causes the filing error, it says it will deal with the tax agency, and no dollar cap is printed beside that guarantee.
Hiring paperwork and employee access
I-9s, W-4s, and offer letters can be e-signed, and new-hire reporting is included, so week one does not require the HR add-on. Employees get a mobile app plus pay stubs, with six permission levels and a report designer of more than 50 fields.
Benefits administration without an admin fee
Health, dental, vision, life, disability, HSA, FSA, commuter, workers' compensation, and 401(k) connect on Essentials, so benefits are not a reason to buy the HR add-on. You pay premiums rather than an admin fee, through broker OnPay Insurance Agency, LLC.
HR, time, and compliance as add-ons
Time clocks, onboarding workflows, the org chart, the compliance library, and live licensed HR support are separate products, so a payroll-only quote can miss them. PTO accrual stays on the base plan, and the request workflow sits on the HR or time add-on.

OnPay pricing

The rates below were read on October 17, 2026, on OnPay's pricing page.

The other cards are Gusto, Patriot, Square, Zoho Payroll, and QuickBooks Workforce on the products page.

Ten-person figures are our multiplication unless the sentence says the vendor printed them.

Essentials is a monthly base plus a worker fee, so the bill moves when you pay more people and stays put when you add a state. The page's own calculator shows $55 a month for one worker, the pre-add-on total for a single employee. At 10 workers the same rate comes to $109 a month, in one state or several.

Gusto Simple, Square full-service, and Zoho Standard's monthly worker fee all use that same $6, so the per-person charge is not where these cards separate.

The paychecks page says you pay only for the employees you run payroll for that month, on top of the monthly base, so a thinner run should cost less than a full roster.

The HR add-on and time tracking each open with a $15 base, which makes either one a second subscription.

Compliance Resources is a flat monthly fee for a team that wants the library without a per-worker climb.

Live HR Support is the expensive desk, a flat monthly fee with no per-worker charge, so hiring does not raise that flat fee. The hourly bundle, payroll plus time plus HR, is the discount for that trio.

At 10 workers it comes to $170 a month, the hourly-team bill rather than payroll alone. The undiscounted trio is a $79 base plus $12 per worker, so skipping the bundle costs more.

The salaried bundle swaps the clock for compliance resources and live HR support and comes to $190 a month at the same headcount, and that increase is the licensed desk. The growing bundle keeps all five products and comes to $230, the top of the published menu.

Annual billing at Zoho drops each organization fee by $10 a month. Annual per-employee fees are $5 on Standard and $7 on Professional, the discount for a team that can pay yearly.

For a single state and 10 employees, Patriot's own table lists $57 a month on Basic, where you file the taxes, and $87 on Full Service, before 30 days free and half off for three months. Basic is cheaper only if someone on staff will file.

That Full Service figure is the single-state bill to beat, and the promotion is not the rate for the rest of the year.

Square full-service comes to $95, Zoho Standard billed monthly comes to $99, and the Zoho annual card comes to $79. Gusto Simple matches the Essentials total and stays single-state, the same money with a one-state ceiling.

QuickBooks Workforce Payroll comes to $120 before any state tax filing fee. The products page prints the intro base at $25 for three months, and that discount skips the per-employee fee and state filing fees. The page never prints the state-fee amount, so the printed total is not the full filing cost.

A second state is where Essentials earns the sticker. Patriot Full Service adds the extra-state fee to that printed $87, which lands on the same $99 as Zoho Standard's monthly bill, and one remote state erases Patriot's edge there.

Gusto cannot stay on Simple: Plus, the first multi-state tier, comes to $200 a month at 10 people and also includes time tracking and next-day pay, a wider product rather than a small step.

Zoho Professional, the multi-state plan, is $59 plus $8.50 per employee, or $144 a month at 10 employees on monthly billing, which undercuts that Plus bill and does not include a clock. Essentials stays on the same rate, the reason to keep it when a second state is the only change.

QuickBooks Workforce Premium, with time tracking, comes to $218 for those 10 employees, still before a state filing fee.

The hourly OnPay bundle is not the same product as Gusto Plus. Plus includes next-day pay and leaves heavier HR workflows off that tier, while the OnPay bundle includes the HR add-on and the clock and does not list faster deposit.

Square's full-service column marks next-day direct deposit as included, with no separate price, so speed is not an add-on there.

Elite at QuickBooks is the plan with expert setup, and its tax-penalty protection is capped at $25,000 a year. OnPay's guarantee names the tax agency and does not name a cap, so ask whether the promise is broader than that ceiling or less defined.

OnPay's partner page discounts the employer rate by how many payroll clients a firm brings, so do not budget a company from that calculator.

Profiles for Gusto, Patriot, Square, and QuickBooks sit on Toolradar if you want the directory view beside this bill.

PlanPriceBest for
OnPay Payroll Essentials$49/mo + $6/workerUnlimited runs, multi-state tax filing, W-2 and 1099 workers
OnPay HR add-on$15/mo + $2/workerOnboarding workflows, org chart, and PTO requests
OnPay Time Tracking$15/mo + $4/workerClocks, overtime rules, and timesheet approval
OnPay Compliance Resources$10/moState alerts, handbook guidance, and a template library
OnPay Live HR Support$65/moLicensed HR experts by phone, chat, and email
OnPay hourly bundle$70/mo + $10/workerPayroll, time tracking, and the HR add-on together
OnPay salaried bundle$120/mo + $7/workerPayroll, HR, compliance resources, and live HR support
OnPay growing bundle$130/mo + $10/workerPayroll, time, HR, compliance, and live HR support
Gusto Simple$49/mo + per personSame worker fee as Essentials. One state and unlimited runs
Gusto Plus$80/mo + $12/personMulti-state payroll, time tracking, and next-day pay
Gusto Premium$180/mo + $22/personNamed advisor, HR tools, same-day and instant pay
Patriot Basic$17/mo + $4/workerUnlimited runs and direct deposit. You file the taxes
Patriot Full Service$37/mo + $5/workerFederal, state, and local filing. List rate before the promo
Patriot extra state$12/moEach state after the first on Full Service
Square full-service$35/mo + per person paidSame worker fee as Essentials. Multistate filing, no term contract
Zoho Payroll Standard$39/mo or $29/mo annualSingle-state filing and a 14-day trial. Worker fee matches Essentials monthly
Zoho Payroll Professional$59/mo + $8.50/employeeMulti-state filing, approvals, and custom roles
QuickBooks Workforce Payroll$50/mo + $7/employeeTax filing. Intro cuts the base for three months, not the per-employee fee
QuickBooks Workforce Premium$88/mo + $13/employeeAdds time tracking and HR tools on top of payroll
QuickBooks Workforce Elite$134/mo + $17/employeeExpert setup and tax-penalty protection with a yearly cap

OnPay pros and cons

What we like

  • Tax filing covers every state you pay, and extra states add no fee, so a remote hire stays on this plan.
  • Unlimited pay runs, with no extra charge for a bonus run, plus W-2, 1099, 941, and 943 filings in one payday.
  • Benefits administration is on the base plan, and you pay carrier premiums rather than an admin fee.

What could be better

  • PTO requests, the org chart, and time clocks are add-ons, so the base plan is payroll rather than an HR suite.
  • The pricing page does not state a minimum term, and the one-worker calculator is not a flat company fee.

Who OnPay is for

Essentials fits a US employer that already pays people in more than one state, or expects to, and wants that filing on the published plan. A 10-person company in two states is the clearest yes, because the total does not change when the second state is real.

The same company in one state will usually find a lower full-service card at Patriot or Square, unless a second state is already on the hiring plan.

Hourly teams should price the bundle, not the base, because the clock is an add-on. PTO requests are not the accrual policy already on Essentials, so buying the HR add-on only to store that policy means paying twice.

A salaried team that wants a licensed HR expert on call is buying Live HR Support, the line that lifts the salaried and growing bundles.

Skip OnPay when the books already live in QuickBooks and finance wants one vendor, when the team is outside the US, or when the job is a co-employer. This is not a PEO, so it will not share employer duties with you.

For a quoted specialist, start with the Rippling review, the ADP review, and the Paychex Flex review.

A team that needs a free tier should read free payroll software first, because the free month ends.

Founders hiring their first employees can move to HR software for startups once payroll is chosen.

Other headcounts are in how much payroll costs, Simple versus Plus is on Gusto pricing, and staffing context is on HR statistics.

Best OnPay alternatives

If OnPay is not the right fit, these are the closest options.

ToolBest forStarts at
OnPayUS employers that want multi-state filing on one published plan, not a higher tier.10 workers: $109/mo on Essentials before add-onsVisit →
GustoUS teams that want a printed plan and will move up a tier for a second state.Simple, Plus, and Premium are month-to-month, and multi-state starts oVisit →
Patriot SoftwareEmployers that will file their own taxes, or that want full service at a lower list rate.List rates in the table, then 30 days free and half off for three montVisit →
Square PayrollBusinesses already on Square that want full-service payroll without a term contract.Full-service base plus a per-person fee, and contractor-only drops theVisit →
Zoho PayrollSingle-state teams that want a lower annual base, or multi-state teams that can use Professional.Standard is one state, Professional adds multi-state, and the trial isVisit →
QuickBooks WorkforceCompanies that want payroll next to QuickBooks and will ask about the state filing fee.Workforce Payroll, Premium, and Elite each publish a base plus a per-eVisit →
Gusto
Three published payroll plans, with a visible jump from one state on Simple to multi-state on Plus.
Visit →
Patriot Software
A lower printed full-service card, with a per-state fee after the first state.
Visit →
Square Payroll
Full-service US payroll with multistate filing included and no long-term contract on the pricing page.
Visit →
Zoho Payroll
US payroll with a single-state Standard plan and a multi-state Professional plan, plus a 14-day trial.
Visit →
QuickBooks Workforce
Published Workforce plans on the QuickBooks products page, with time tracking from Premium up.
Visit →

The bottom line

Buy Payroll Essentials when tax filing in more than one state has to sit on a price you can multiply tonight. At 10 workers the bill does not change when the second state appears, which separates this plan from Gusto Simple, Patriot Full Service, and Zoho Standard.

If that state is only a maybe, you are paying for coverage you have not used.

Do not buy the base plan if the real need is a clock or an HR workflow. Those are add-ons, and the hourly, salaried, and growing bundles are the matching invoices.

A one-state team that only needs filing and direct deposit should price Patriot Full Service and Square first, because both print a lower 10-person list bill. QuickBooks Workforce fits when the ledger is already QuickBooks and someone has asked about the state filing fee.

Ask OnPay to name the term, because the pricing page does not, and do not treat that silence as a right to cancel any month. Confirm the first-month offer at signup, then budget the worker fee for everyone you will actually pay. Our editorial policy is the standard for this read.

Cite this: HRpresso, "OnPay Review 2026: Pricing, Pros, Cons & Alternatives", October 2026.

Frequently asked questions

Is OnPay worth it in 2026?

Yes, for a US employer that pays people in more than one state and wants that filing on the published base plan, because the 10-worker bill does not rise when a second state is added. It is a weaker buy for a single-state team that only needs tax filing and direct deposit, since Patriot Full Service and Square full-service both print lower list bills at that headcount. It is the wrong plan if you needed a time clock or a licensed HR expert and priced only the base, because those are add-ons.

How much does OnPay cost?

Payroll Essentials is $49 a month plus $6 per worker, verified on OnPay's pricing page on October 17, 2026, so the company fee and the headcount fee are both published. One worker shows as $55 on the calculator, and 10 workers come to $109 a month in any number of states, the planning total before add-ons. The HR add-on and time tracking each add a base plus a per-worker fee, compliance resources are a flat monthly fee, and live HR support is a larger flat fee. At 10 workers the hourly bundle is $170 a month, the salaried bundle is $190, and the growing bundle is $230. There is no ongoing free tier, and the first month free is a signup offer rather than a plan you can stay on.

Does OnPay have a free payroll plan?

OnPay does not publish a free payroll plan, and after the first free month the base fee plus the worker fee apply, so a permanent free tier means looking elsewhere. Patriot offers 30 days free and half off for three months, then its list rate, a longer discount that is still not free. Zoho Payroll offers 14 days with no card, a short test rather than a free plan. QuickBooks Workforce halves the monthly base for three months for new subscribers and leaves the per-employee fee intact. Gusto has no free plan and bills month to month, and Square lists no free trial, though it requires no long-term contract.

How does OnPay compare with Gusto?

Gusto Simple matches the Essentials base and worker fee and is limited to one state, so the entry cards tie until a hire crosses a state line. Multi-state payroll, time tracking, and next-day pay start on Plus, a much larger 10-person bill and a wider product than tax filing alone. OnPay keeps multi-state filing on the base plan and sells the clock and HR workflows as add-ons or as the hourly bundle, so you can buy the second state without the clock. Gusto says you can cancel any month, and OnPay's pricing page does not state a minimum term, which is the exit question to settle first. Choose Gusto when next-day pay and a named cancel right matter more, and choose OnPay when the second state is already real.

What are the best OnPay alternatives?

Pick Patriot Full Service for a lower printed full-service rate in one state, and add the extra-state fee before a remote hire, because that fee removes the discount. Pick Square full-service when payroll should sit on a Square account and next-day deposit is included, which fits a business already taking payments there. Pick Zoho Standard on annual billing for one state, or Professional when you need a second state and the 14-day trial. Pick Gusto Plus when multi-state filing, a clock, and next-day pay should be one tier you can cancel any month. Pick QuickBooks Workforce when the books are already QuickBooks and you have priced the unpublished state filing fee. For a quoted specialist, read the Paychex, ADP, and Rippling reviews.

Sources

Prices and plan details come from each vendor's own pricing page, re-checked by the Toolradar pricing tracker.

Related guides

Some offers on this page may be paid placements or contain affiliate links.

More HRpresso reviews

Buyer guides and software reviews, with prices read from each vendor's own pricing page.

Browse all reviews